Jan van Aken

Jan van Aken

Jan van Aken (b. 1961) published in the literary magazines Optima and Nieuw Wereldtijdschrift, before having his real debut with the historical novel 'Het oog van de basilisk' (The Eye of the Cockatrice) in 2000.

Photo: Koos Breukel

He went on to write two more historical novels: De valse dageraad (The False Dawn, 2001) and De dwaas van Palmyra (The Fool of Palmyra, 2003). In 2005 he published Het fluwelen labyrint (The Velvet Labyrinth), set in the 1980s in Amsterdam.


De ommegang (2018) was awarded the F. Bordewijk-prijs 2018 and is longlisted for the Libris Literatuur Prijs.

Part ofFiction
Share page