Maartje Wortel wins BNG Bank Literature Prize

27 January 2015

Last Thursday, author Maartje Wortel won the BNG Bank Literature prize. She receives the oeuvre award for young talent for her novel IJstijd.

Jury president Annemarie Oster presented the award. Maartje Wortel (32), whose work has been supported by the Dutch Foundation of Literature, received 15.000 euros and a sculpture by Theo Eldik.

The jury was impressed with her down-to-earth style and praised the way Wortel presents the psyche of her characters.

This year, the jury decided to nominate three authors. The two other nominees were Hanna Bervoets (Efter) and Naomi Rebekka Boekwijt (Hoogvlakte).

The BNK Bank Literature prize has been awarded annually since 2005. Previous winners are Wytske Versteeg, Christiaan Weijts, Jan van Mersbergen and Gustaaf Peek.

See also: