European honour for Pamuk and Pieter Steinz

25 July 2014

The renowned Turkish writer Orhan Pamuk is the Grand Prix winner of the 2014 Helena Vaz da Silva European Award for Raising Public Awareness on Cultural Heritage. This Award acknowledges exceptional contributions to the communication on cultural heritage and European ideals. The Jury also gave a Special Award to the Portuguese Art Historian José-Augusto França and a Special Mention to Pieter Steinz.

Pieter Steinz was granted a Special Mention for creating an original encyclopedia of cultural icons which belong to the DNA of Europe, through the daily newspaper NRC Handelsblad and his blog and book Made in Europe - The Cultural Icons that Unite Us.

He has identified and brought together over 200 symbols of Europe’s art and heritage which have a major influence in all parts of our continent. We hope that this European recognition will stimulate the translation and broader divulgation of this important work, especially at the time where Europe needs a New Narrative with a stronger cultural dimension

The Award is the third honour in a row that Steinz recently received for his introductions into literature in general and his book Made in Europe in particular. The book was published by Nieuw Amsterdam.

The award-giving ceremony will take place on 3 October at the Gulbenkian Foundation in Lisbon.

The European Award for Raising Public Awareness on Cultural Heritage is named after Helena Vaz da Silva (1939-2002), Portuguese journalist, writer, cultural activist and politician in memory and recognition of her remarkable contribution to the promotion of cultural heritage and European ideals. It is presented annually to a European citizen whose career has been distinguished by activities that disseminate, defend and promote Europe’s cultural heritage, in particular through literary works, news reports, articles, chronicles, photographs, documentary features, films and radio and/or television programmes. The renowned Italian writer Claudio Magris was the first laureate of this Award in 2013.