European Literature Prize 2014

7 September 2014

The European Literature Prize, the annual prize for the best European novel in Dutch translation, will be awarded on Sunday September 7th in Utrecht. The prize consists of a sum of € 10.000 for the author and € 5.000 for the translator of the winning book. The award ceremony takes place at book festival Manuscripta in Utrecht.

The previous winners were Limonov by Emmanuel Carrère and translators Katelijne De Vuyst and Katrien Vandenberghe, Alsof het voorbij is (The Sense of an Ending) by Julian Barnes and translator Ronald Vlek, and Drie sterke vrouwen (Three Strong Women) by Marie NDiaye and translator Jeanne Holierhoek.

Twenty titles have been selected for the longlist of the European Literature Prize 2014. The shortlist will be announced on Tuesday June 3rd, 2014 in Amsterdam.

More information:

Roos de Ridder


Roos de Ridder

Assessment translators

[email protected]