Longlist Libris Literature Prize 2014

28 January 2014

Eighteen Dutch and Flemish novels have been selected for the longlist of the Libris Literature Prize 2014: the biggest Dutch literary award next to the AKO Literature Prize, modeled after the famous Booker Prize. The annual Libris prize for the best Dutch novel of the previous year consists of € 50.000.

After reading circa 160 Dutch novels, the jury selected the following nominees:

More information about the four last mentioned Flemish authors, can be found at the Flemish Literature Fund.

The winner of the Libris Literature Prize 2014 will be announced during a ceremonial diner on May 13. Additionally, the 6 shortlisted authors (to be announced on March 3) will receive € 2.500 each.

The Libris Jury 2014 is made up by Paul Witteman (chairman), Hugo Brems, Arjen Fortuin, Gemma Nefkens en Marjolijn Pouw. The Libris Literature Prize has previously been awarded to Tommy Wieringa for Dit zijn de namen (These Are the Names), and A.F.Th. van der Heijden for Tonio.