Manon Uphoff and Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer

Dutch authors nominated for Dublin Literary Award 2023

2 February 2023

Two Dutch authors and their translators have been longlisted for the 28th edition of the Dublin Literary Prize, with € 100,000 the world’s most valuable annual literary prize for a single work of fiction published in English.

The two Dutch titles that have been nominated are:

  • Grand Hotel Europa by Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer, translated by Michele Hutchison, 4th Estate
  • Falling is like flying by Manon Uphoff, translated by Sam Garrett, Pushkin Press

Nominations include 29 novels in translation, with works nominated by 84 libraries from 31 countries across Africa, Europe, Asia, the US, Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand. Fourteen titles are debut novels.

The shortlist will be unveiled on 28 March and the winner will be announced by the Mayor of Dublin, Caroline Conroy, on 25 May 2023, as part of the International Literature Festival Dublin. The winner will receive € 100,000. If the winning book is a translation, the author receives € 75,000 and the translator receives € 25,000.

The first Dutch winner of this prestigious award were in 2010 Gerbrand Bakker and translator David Colmer for The Twin, which has been translated into 25 languages.

See also