Mischa Andriessen wins Awater Poetry Prize

24 January 2020

Mischa Andriessen wins the annual Awater Poetry Prize. A jury consisting of 27 Dutch and Flemish critics, journalists, and other poetry specialists, chose his Winterlaken [Winter Sheet] as the best poetry collection of 2019.

The jury praised Andriessen’s open, yet never simple style: ‘Well-thought-out poems with a heartbreaking undertone. An enchanting book about a great loss.’ ‘Subdued and moving, precise, subtly musical’.

Over the past years, Andriessen received multiple awards for his work, among them the award for the best debut of the year for Uitzien met D [Facing with D] and the prestigious J.C.-Bloem Prize for his second collection of poetry.

The Awater Poetry Prize is awarded every year by a jury of 27 professional readers. Together with the (monetary) award, Andriessen thus wins the critical acclaim of the Netherland’s most distinguished readers.

Previous laureates are, amongst others, Eva Gerlach (2016), Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer (2015) and Menno Wigman (2012).

For more information on Mischa Andriessen’s work and on other Dutch poets, you may contact the Dutch Foundation for Literature’s poetry specialist: Victor Schiferli.

More information on:

Andriessen Photo: Bezige Bij