Daniel Cunin wins Brockway Prize

22 May 2018

The Brockway Prize, a biennial prize for poetry translations from the Dutch, has been awarded to Daniel Cunin. The prize was established by the Dutch Foundation for Literature and is worth 5,000 euros. It will be presented on 1 June during the Poetry International Festival in Rotterdam.

The 2015 Brockway Prize jury was made up of literary translator Gregor Seferens and publisher Christoph Buchwald, supported by Peter Bergsma, translator and director of the Translators’ House Amsterdam (part of the Dutch Foundation for Literature).

Each edition of the Brockway Prize focuses on a different target language. The prize has previously been awarded to Francis R. Jones (2005; English), Gregor Seferens (2007; German), Jan H. Mysjkin and Pierre Gallissaires (2009; French), Francisco Carrasquer Launed (2011; Spanish), Judith Wilkinson (2013; English) and Ard Posthuma (2015).

James Brockway

Poet and translator James Brockway died on 15 December 2000. His translations gave an English-language readership access to the poetry of Rutger Kopland, Hans Lodeizen, M. Vasalis, Gerrit Achterberg and many other poets writing in Dutch. In 1966 he received the Martinus Nijhoff Prize for his services as a translator and in 1997 he was knighted, on the same grounds. In his will Brockway left half his estate to the Dutch Foundation for Literature. That legacy is used by the Foundation for the stimulation of translations of poetry from the Dutch.

Victor Schiferli


Victor Schiferli

Specialist Dutch non-fiction and poetry

[email protected]