Creative Twinning

19 January 2018

Is your organisation, company or NGO active in the literary, creative or cultural sector? And are your cultural activities aimed at contributing to social cohesion in the regions bordering on the European Union? If so, you might be eligible for a 2018-2020 Creative Twinning grant, a new subsidy scheme of the Dutch government. A key component of Creative Twinning projects is collaboration, since the scheme focuses on increasing trust and improving communication between the Netherlands and EU neighbours. Questions and applications may be directed to Netherlands Enterprise Agency (RVO).

Creative activities at the EU borders

Cultural freedoms in the EU border regions are under severe pressure. This situation compromises the relationship between the European Union and its neighbours, and results in isolation of artists or other creative persons. Taking part in diverse cultural activities is also becoming more and more difficult in these areas, especially in countries that harbour large numbers of refugees and migrants. An open dialogue on cultural differences is sometimes replaced by cultural confrontation or even intentional cultural destruction.

Mutual trust

Creative Twinning is a subsidy scheme which assists in the development of cultural activities in regions bordering the EU. These activities strengthen mutual links, increase trust and improve communication between the Netherlands and the countries involved.

Future perspective

Creative Twinning projects contribute to:

  • a more vigorous local cultural sector, which can contribute to social innovation;
  • more participation in cultural events by young people;
  • a safer, more sustainable urban living environment;
  • sustainable preservation of local cultural heritage.

Young people between the ages of 15 and 24 in countries bordering the EU are the target group of these cultural activities that relate to the visual arts, performing arts, film and literature. Projects involving multidisciplinary art forms, cultural heritage and the design sectors (architecture, creative design and new media) are also welcome to apply for a grant.

More information