Book

Frits van Oostrom

Noble Endeavour

The Improbable but True Story of the Knight Jan van Brederode

Jan van Brederode was born into most fortuitous circumstances around 1372. He died ingloriously not quite forty years later in the famous Battle of Agincourt, a soldier of fortune.

Taking the form of a historical detective story, Noble Endeavour reconstructs the course of his unusual life.

A tantalizing glimpse into the Middle Ages, in the vein of Duby, Le Goff and Le Roy Ladurie

  • winner Libris History Prize 2018

The life story of Jan van Brederode, as described in such detail by Van Oostrom, seems almost to be a historical novel, so fantastic are some of its events.

Athenaeum.nl

Frits van Oostrom knows exactly how to bring the Middle Ages to life. His vivid and compelling depiction of a little-known protagonist charts a life of incredible adventure. All the great themes of human existence are here: sickness, death, sorrow and pain. Along the way, Van Oostrom deftly provides a wide audience with a masterclass in how to handle historical sources. A rich and inspiring book.

Libris History Prize

Frits van Oostrom

Frits van Oostrom lectures in Pre-Romantic Dutch Literature at the University of Leiden. Het woord van eer. Literatuur aan het Hollandse hof omstreeks 1400 (Court and Culture. Dutch Literature 1350-1450), was unanimously praised in the press and was awarded the 1988 Wijnaendts Francken Prize for…

lees meer

Details

Nobel streven. Het onwaarschijnlijke maar waargebeurde verhaal van ridder Jan van Brederode (2017). Non-fiction.
Copies sold: 10,500

English sample available

Themes: middle ages

Publisher

Prometheus

Herengracht 540
NL - 1017 CG Amsterdam
The Netherlands
Tel: +31 20 624 19 34
Fax: +31 20 622 54 61

E-mail:
r.palache@pbo.nl
Website:
http://www.uitgeverijpromethe…

lees meer