Marieke Lucas Rijneveld

Marieke Lucas Rijneveld (b. 1991) made her debut as a poet in 2015 with the collection Kalfsvlies (Calf’s Caul), awarded the C. Buddingh’ Prize for the best poetry debut, and reprinted several times. She won the Hollands Maandblad Incentive Bursary 2014/2015 and the C.C.S. Crone Stipendium 2015. De Volkskrant proclaimed her the literary talent of 2016. The Discomfort of Evening, the English translation by Michele Hutchison of Rijneveld’s debut novel De avond is ongemak (2018) was awarded the International Booker Prize.

The Discomfort of Evening

The Discomfort of Evening

(Atlas Contact, 2018, 272 pages)

In this fine debut novel, Marieke Lucas Rijneveld forces us to look at exactly what is seen, felt and tasted, not from a distancing helicopter perspective, but from close up, breathtakingly close up. The Discomfort of Evening takes the reader into an oppressive and repulsive world where detail is what matters.

Read more